World Steel Association Elects New Officers

Written by Brett Linton

The Board of Directors of the World Steel Association (worldsteel) has elected the following new officers for 2013/2014:

Chairman:    POSCO Chairman and CEO Joon-Yang Chung
Vice Chairmen:    Severstal JSC CEO Alexey Mordashov, voestalpine AG CEO and Chairman Wolfgang Eder
Treasurer:    JFE Steel Corporation CEO and President Eiji Hayashida

The new chairman takes office from Wednesday 9 October, 2013. The new officers are elected for one year, until October 2014. The Board of Directors met on the first day of worldsteel’s 47th Annual Conference in São Paulo, Brazil.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, World Steel Association Director General Edwin Basson thanked 2012/2013 Chairman Alexey Mordashov for his leadership and active engagement over the past year. Edwin Basson said: “We welcome Joon-Yang Chung as the new chairman, Alexey Mordashov and Wolfgang Eder as vice chairmen and Eiji Hayashida as treasurer. We are also delighted to welcome our new members on board.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank U. S. Steel Chairman John Surma, who is retiring as treasurer of worldsteel, for his contribution to the global steel industry. He was chairman of the association in 2006/2007, and has served as a member of worldsteel’s Executive Committee since 2004 and as treasurer since 2009. John Surma has been a tireless and dedicated steel champion around the world. We wish him well for the future.”

The Board of Directors also elected the 2013/14 Executive Committee:

Joon-Yang Chung, POSCO
Wolfgang Eder, voestalpine AG
John Ferriola, Nucor Corporation
Eiji Hayashida, JFE Steel Corporation
Heinrich Hiesinger, ThyssenKrupp AG
Sajjan Jindal, JSW Steel Ltd
André Gerdau Johannpeter, Gerdau SA
Mario Longhi, United States Steel Corporation
Lakshmi Mittal, ArcelorMittal
Alexey Mordashov, Severstal JSC
Shoji Muneoka, Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation
Paolo Rocca, Techint Group
Lejiang Xu, Baosteel Group Corporation
Xiaogang Zhang, Anshan Iron & Steel Group Corporation
Edwin Basson, World Steel Association

(Source: World Steel Association press release)

Latest in Economy